Southern Medical University (SMU)

Organisation's information


Southern Medical University, formerly known as the First Military Medical University, was founded in 1951 and became a national key university in 1979. In 2004, it was renamed Southern Medical University. It was entitled to accept international students of Chinese Government Scholarship in 2006. The University has 17 schools, 6 affiliated hospitals and 47 non-directly affiliated hospitals. It has 7 post-doctoral research stations. If offers 75 doctoral programs, 99 postgraduate programs and 51 undergraduate programs. At present, working on its campus are a large group of well-know experts and professors. Among 20,123 students enrolled, more than 1,100 are international students. Its international education includes graduate and undergraduate programs and short-term training. It provides Chinese government scholarship, Guangdong provincial government scholarship, and school freshman scholarship to all international students. The Department of Medical Genetics works on the molecular mechanisms and diagnosis of single-gene disorders.

Organisation's Type

Research Center, Higher Education